An Open Letter to Pope Francis

My essay on caesaropapism will have to be pushed back to next week. The recent actions of the Pope, spiritual leader of the Roman Catholic Church, which run in parallel to the cultural crisis facing the Occidental world, as well as the carnage in Syria, compelled me to write this letter. It is generously hosted by The Orthosphere, whom I thank sincerely. Call it the lodging of protest, I’d prefer to say that it was a statement of clarity to a man who has very little if any. A letter is often better than word of mouth, as we can measure ourselves and choose our words carefully. I hope that God had His hand upon me when I wrote this, and that I have said all that needs to be said at this time.


“Brothers, if anyone is caught in any transgression, you who are spiritual should restore him in a spirit of gentleness.”

Galatians 6:1

(Also of major interest concerning the Pope, see this excellent Social Matter article by Mark Yuray)
2 thoughts on “An Open Letter to Pope Francis

  1. Complete non-sequiter, which I would never do on a post that does substantially more than refer to other content, but would you consider writing up your thoughts on the Filioque controversy? I ask because you are a staunch Orthodox whom I trust to have carefully thought things through and who nevertheless still comes at things through the lay perspective.

    I'm especially interested not simply in the stated theological position of the Orthodox Church (which I could just look up, though if you have any light to share on that I trust you more than Google to convey understanding), but also in what ways you feel the difference relevant to your worship both personally and as part of the Church, if I may be so bold.

    I ask this as a devout Catholic who nevertheless wishes to see us as brothers in the faith and is fully capable of recognizing that the Roman Church is able to make mistakes or be prey to misapprehensions. (E.g., I'm not convinced the Copts are actually the heretics they were accused of being; it might simply be a matter of mistranslation and the unfortunate application of politics. Or it might not. I'm unsure.)

    Like

  2. I'm sure I could make time to discuss it in the future, but I'm not sure how much I could pontificate on it at the theological level. For the layperson, much of it centers around authority, and whether the Church in Rome had the authority to change the creed in the way they did. Still, there is some interesting stuff to say about the divide, and I could probably whip something up. Not sure when though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

